Nutritious and Fit

Diet, Fitness, and a Healthy Attitude

I’m back!

Hey everyone! Now that I’m getting a hang of this internship and the long hours, I’m back to putting up new posts! I’m going to shoot for twice a week, but it may be only once a week for now.

As many of you know, I started my Dietetic Internship a couple months ago and by the end of summer I will be taking my RD exam! So far, it’s been a complete rollercoaster ride, but good and bad days alike, I LOVE what I’m doing! I’m looking through charts and talking to patients to determine their nutritional risk and make recommendations based on it, and I’m learning so much in the process.

Last weekend, I got to go to Boston for the Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo, or FNCE. It was absolutely amazing! I attended 2 lectures- one on vitamin D and one on dietary triggers of migraines. Both were very interesting, but the vitamin D lecture particularly fascinated me. It was by Dr. Michael Holick, a well-known dermatologist among many other qualifying professions and credentials. He wrote the book the Vitamin D Solution and was an excellent speaker.

While the lectures were extremely intriguing, the most fun you can have at FNCE is spent at the expos! There were a million of them! I went home with 3 huge bags of food samples, kitchen supplies, catalogs, educational resources, DVDs of educational resources, pens, tote bags, lunch bags, and books signed by their authors! Not to mention, all the free food given out while you’re walking around- the vendors want to make sure you taste how good their food is so that we (dietitians) can recommend them to clients. I tried so much gluten-free food, I’m not sure I’d remember which to recommend! They were all pretty good though! There were also booths giving out nuts, fruit, fish, weight loss shakes/smoothies, supplements, and so much more- I could spend all night listing everything!

Over the next few posts, I will type up my notes from Dr. Holick’s lecture and also talk about a couple of the food/products I was introduced to at the Expo.

Keep checking back!

11/16/2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

